HOME WHAT’S NEW Unpredictable Weather, Wheel-to-Wheel Racing at Round 1 of 2024 MSCC Miata Spec Series

Unpredictable Weather, Wheel-to-Wheel Racing at Round 1 of 2024 MSCC Miata Spec Series

Jun 2, 2024
Unpredictable Weather, Wheel-to-Wheel Racing at Round 1 of 2024 MSCC Miata Spec Series

June 3, 2024, Manila Philippines--Torrential rains tested the skill and resolve of the 2024 Manila Sports Car Club (MSCC) Miata Spec Series racers as the season officially flagged off at the Batangas Racing Circuit in Rosario, Batangas last Saturday, May 25. The unfavorable weather conditions challenged everyone competing in the one-make racing series.

The MSCC Miata Spec Series, now in its third year, is sponsored by Shell Pilipinas, B.R.M. Chronographes, and GT Radial, each lending their names to one of the three racing classes.

In the Shell Pro Class, Tyson Sy demonstrated exceptional skill in lapping the 3.5-kilometer circuit amidst the heavy rain, proving that he is the man to beat this year. Sy secured a convincing victory in both races during Round 1, while setting the fastest lap in each race, as well. Main championship rival and last season’s overall champion, Juha Turalba, delivered a strong performance by finishing third in Race 1 and second in Race 2. Guest driver Gaby Dela Merced also impressed with a second place finish in Race 1 and third in Race 2. All three are no strangers to the MX-5 as a racing platform as they have all raced it in the Makabayan Endurance Cup Challenge.

In the B.R.M. Chronographes Masters Class, which is for racers 55 years old and above, regardless of past racing experience, Windy Imperial claimed victory in Race 1 and second in Race 2. Michael Jordan made a strong debut with a third place finish in Race 1 and a win in Race 2. Jean Dejardin’s consistency earned him a second place in Race 1 and third in Race 2.

Finally, in the GT Radial Sportsman Class, Javier Toledo dominated his class winning both Race 1 and Race 2. In both races, he was followed by Enzo Celestino in second place, and first-year MSCC Miata Spec Series racer, John Bornilla, in third.

“It was a fabulous Leg 1 of the 2024 MSCC Miata Spec Series,” says Steven Tan, president of Mazda Philippines. “The weather didn’t dampen the spirit of everyone at the Batangas Racing Circuit. This is definitely club racing at its best. When the lights go out, the competition is intense, but it’s also camaraderie at every level.”

After the first leg, Tyson Sy stands first atop the standings followed by Juha Turalba, Gaby Dela Merced, and Javier Toledo.

MSCC Miata Spec Series race cars are all built from showroom-standard Mazda MX-5 Soft Top units. The race cars feature the stock Skyactiv-G 2.0-liter engine and 6-speed Skyactiv-Drive manual transmission.

The sports car’s platform has been made stiffer with the use of a Mazdaspeed upper stress bar and front lower arm power brace. Each suspension component has been enhanced with CUSCO Sport S 24-way adjustable coil overs and sway bars to maximize handling and performance on the track, while ensuring drivability on the road. All MX-5 Spec Series cars race with GT Radial Champiro SX2 215/45R17 tires mounted on custom 17 x 8.0 J wheels. Repeated hard braking on the circuit also meant improving the brakes using AutoExe stainless steel braided hose lines and Winmax brake pads.

A custom stainless steel exhaust system, developed by local company Drift Xaust, maximizes air flow and augments the racing note emanating from the MX-5’s 181-horsepower engine. A Sparco R345 competition steering wheel, Grid-Q racing seat, and four-point harness, as well as a CUSCO 6-point roll cage and safety net, are installed to secure the drivers’ control and safety on and off the track.

The 2024 race cars have been installed with new Sparco front & rear tow straps for easier recovery in the event of a collision and front brake cooling ducts to help lower brake temperature and minimize brake fade over the course of the race.

Leg 2 of the MSCC Miata Spec Series will happen on Saturday, July 20 at the Clark International Speedway.



  1. Tyson Sy (Shell Pro) – 42 points
  2. Juha Turalba (Shell Pro) – 27 points
  3. Gaby Dela Merced (Shell Pro) – 25 points
  4. Javier Toledo (GT Radial Sportsman) – 20 points
  5. Windy Imperial (B.R.M Chronographes Masters) – 16 points
  6. Michael Jordan (B.R.M Chronographes Masters) – 11 points
  7. Jean Dejardin (B.R.M Chronographes Masters) – 8 points
  8. Red Diwa (Shell Pro) – 6 points
  9. Enzo Celestino (GT Radial Sportsman) – 4 points
  10. Toti Turalba (B.R.M Chronographes Masters) – 4 points


Bermaz Auto Philippines, Inc. (Mazda Philippines) is the exclusive distributor of Mazda vehicles and parts in the Philippines. Mazda Philippines’ exemplary after-sales service record has been ranked #1 in the industry twice—in the 2016 and 2019 J.D. Power Customer Service Index Study.

There are 14 Mazda 3S dealerships located across the Philippines and Metro Manila – Mazda C-5 Pasig, Mazda Quezon Avenue, Mazda Makati, Mazda Alabang, Mazda Sta. Rosa, Mazda Pampanga, Mazda Dagupan, Mazda Cabanatuan, Mazda Tarlac, Mazda Cebu, Mazda Iloilo, Mazda Bacolod, Mazda Cagayan De Oro, and Mazda Davao.